Winter shopping on the High Street

Posted on September 18, 2013

0


Can you feel that foul wind? #winteriscoming, and I don’t mean from Winterfell. It’s time to get buying those jumpers…

Zara have gone for the tartan look in a big way, so get down there for a bit of Sex Pistols chic (or Bay City Rollers, depending on how you rock it)

zara_tartan_coat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tartan reminds me, in the least seductive way possible, of my wilderness years in high school, so I’ll be avoiding it like the plague. Luckily, Zara have also concocted this cute jumper outfit…

zara_yellow_jumper

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leather, according to fashionistas, is big news this season. I do have a leather skirt, but the slippery nature of the material does have the unhappy consequence of making it slip back to front as I walk. If this doesn’t put you off, check out Topshop, who are having a typically ridic heroin-chic moment.

Topshop_bonkers_leather_skirt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s all a bit too nineties meets Linda Lovelace in Toppers at the minute for my delicate disposition.

Inda_Lovelace_Topshop

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In my older years I find myself veering towards Mango for a bit of respectable suitage, although here it looks a bit power-dressing meets… herion chic. Dammit.

Mango_suit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To summarise the trend for Autumn/Winter 2013, I would call it “drug addicted bonkers and Rihanna-we-found-love-in-a-hopeless-Bay-City-Rollers-place” post-apocalyptic grunge. A style which is nicely summed up by Urban Outfitters:

Urban_outfitters_heroin_chic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Gotta love a bit of shabby chic. But where are all the jumpers?

Posted in: Fashion